# Licensing in East Hampshire

> East Hampshire has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

- Checked 26 Oct 2026 (researched_at 2026-10-26, verified_at 2026-10-26)
- Region: South East
- ONS code: E07000085
- Web page: https://lettance.com/councils/east-hampshire
- API: https://lettance.com/api/v1/councils/east-hampshire

## Licensing schemes

### Mandatory HMO licence: Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, East Hampshire fees)

- Status: In force (`in_force`)
- Area: The whole of East Hampshire District (national scheme).
- Fee: Published standard fee: £600. Council HMO page (no fee year printed; fetched 26 October 2026), paid when submitting the application: 0-5 occupants £600; 6-10 £710; 11-15 £820; 16-20 £930; 20 plus £1,040. No renewal rate or two-part split shown.
- Who needs one: HMOs with five or more people from two or more households (council HMO page: 'a statutory requirement for us to operate a licensing scheme for HMOs with five or more people, from two or more households').
- Apply: https://www.gov.uk/apply-for-a-licence/house-in-multiple-occupation-licence/east-hampshire/apply-1
- Licence conditions: https://www.easthants.gov.uk/media/5006/download?inline
- Confidence: High
- How we checked this: Applications can be made through GOV.UK or by emailing or posting the council's form to Environmental Health, EHDC, PO Box 310, Petersfield GU32 9HN. The process includes an HHSRS inspection. A simplified register of licensed HMOs (May 2026) is published; the full register is available in print on request. Licence length is not stated.
- Sources: https://www.easthants.gov.uk/housing/private-sector-housing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo

## Article 4 for house shares

Not yet confirmed: whether East Hampshire has an Article 4 direction on house shares.

Council source: https://www.planning.data.gov.uk/entity.json?dataset=article-4-direction&organisation_entity=122

## Civil penalty policy

The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.

Local housing authority civil penalties policy, policy date September 2026 (review September 2029), linked with the September 2026 enforcement policy from the private sector housing enforcement page. It covers Renters' Rights Act 2025 breaches and offences; failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72(1)) starting point £17,000 (landlord-type adjustment £13,600 / £20,400) within the £40,000 statutory maximum.

Policy: https://www.easthants.gov.uk/sites/default/files/2026-10/Local%20housing%20authority%20civil%20penalties%20policy%20-%20September%202026.pdf

## Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched East Hampshire.

## Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched East Hampshire on 26 October 2026. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

- No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council's private sector housing, HMO or enforcement pages or in the council's committee document search (easthants.moderngov.co.uk: 'selective licensing', 'additional licensing', 'houses in multiple occupation' return only the 2018 HMO Licensing Policy and older items). Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.
- HMO licence term and fee year are not stated on the HMO page.
- Absence of an HMO Article 4 direction rests on the planning.data.gov.uk dataset; the council's own Article 4 list was not fetched.

## Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. East Hampshire is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register: https://lettance.com/register

---

From Lettance: https://lettance.com/councils/east-hampshire (catalogue edition 31 October 2026). This is information, not legal advice. Check the linked sources, and the council's own pages, before you act.
