# Licensing in Exeter

> Exeter has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

- Checked 26 Oct 2026 (researched_at 2026-10-26, verified_at 2026-10-26)
- Region: South West
- ONS code: E07000041
- Web page: https://lettance.com/councils/exeter
- API: https://lettance.com/api/v1/councils/exeter

## Licensing schemes

### Mandatory HMO licence: Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Exeter fees)

- Status: In force (`in_force`)
- Area: The whole of Exeter City Council's area (national scheme).
- Fee: Published standard fee: £1,071.20. Council application page (last updated 22 September 2026) gives 2025/2026 fees: Part A £298.70 payable with the application; Part B £772.50 plus £10.80 per bedroom for bedrooms six and above (examples: 5-bedroom HMO Part B £772.50; 7-bedroom £794.10). A £125 reduction at Part B applies if the applicant is accredited under a nationally recognised scheme. standard_gbp is Part A plus Part B for a 5-bedroom HMO (£298.70 + £772.50). The page labels these 2025/2026 fees; no 2026/27 figure was shown.
- Who needs one: HMOs with 5 or more occupiers living in 2 or more households who share an amenity such as a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. The council's page notes that some flats, including flats over shops, also need a licence if occupied by 5 or more people from 2 or more households.
- Exemptions: Statutory exemptions under Schedule 14 to the Housing Act 2004.
- Apply: https://exeter.gov.uk/housing/private-landlords/houses-in-multiple-occupation-hmo/apply-for-your-new-licence-or-renew-your-existing-licence
- Licence conditions: https://exeter.gov.uk/housing/private-landlords/houses-in-multiple-occupation-hmo/safety-and-standards/
- Confidence: High
- How we checked this: The council's application page says 'our HMO additional licensing scheme has now expired. This form is for Mandatory licensing', and that 'The additional licensing scheme ran until February 2020'; existing additional licences remained valid for five years from application with no renewal required. The council publishes an HMO licence register. The mandatory licence length is not stated on the page.
- Sources: https://exeter.gov.uk/housing/private-landlords/houses-in-multiple-occupation-hmo/apply-for-your-new-licence-or-renew-your-existing-licence, https://exeter.gov.uk/housing/private-landlords/houses-in-multiple-occupation-hmo/

## Article 4 for house shares

Exeter has an Article 4 direction on HMOs (shared houses). Turning a family home into a shared house may need planning permission.

- Area: Specific map-defined parts of the city (not whole wards). The '2023 Article 4 Direction' (planning.data.gov.uk A4D16) removes the right to change a house (C3) to a small HMO (C4) on the land 'shown edged and shaded green on the attached plans'; the council's HMO SPD and Article 4 page says it 'covers part of Exeter', shows the area in pink on its interactive map, and states it 'came into force on 23 December 2024'. Council approved making it with non-immediate effect on 12 December 2023, and a February 2024 report recommended confirmation with effect from 23 December 2024. It replaces and enlarges the 2010/2014 HMO direction (St James ward and parts of Duryard, Newtown, Pennsylvania, Polsloe and St Davids wards as then drawn), which planning.data.gov.uk records as ended 23 December 2024. Check the council's map for a given address.
- Takes effect: 23 December 2024

Council source: https://exeter.gov.uk/planning-services/current-policy/supplementary-planning-documents-and-planning-statements/houses-in-multiple-occupation-supplementary-planning-document-and-article-4-direction/

## Civil penalty policy

Not yet confirmed: we have not found Exeter's civil penalty policy yet.

## Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Exeter.

## Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Exeter on 26 October 2026. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

- No current or proposed additional or selective licensing was found. The council's application page states the additional scheme expired in February 2020, and Exeter committee agendas from February to October 2026 contain no new designation proposal. The council does not state the absence.
- Exeter's civil penalty policy document (and whether it has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act £7,000/£40,000 levels) was not located.
- The 2023 Article 4 HMO direction boundary is map-defined; it was not converted into wards or streets. The confirmation date was not legible on the sealed direction.
- The application page labels the fees 2025/2026 (page last updated 22 September 2026); no 2026/27 HMO fee was found.

## Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Exeter is in South West, where registration is planned from 15 August 2027 to 14 November 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register: https://lettance.com/register

---

From Lettance: https://lettance.com/councils/exeter (catalogue edition 31 October 2026). This is information, not legal advice. Check the linked sources, and the council's own pages, before you act.
