# Licensing in Gravesham

> Gravesham has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

- Checked 26 Oct 2026 (researched_at 2026-10-26, verified_at 2026-10-26)
- Region: South East
- ONS code: E07000109
- Web page: https://lettance.com/councils/gravesham
- API: https://lettance.com/api/v1/councils/gravesham

## Licensing schemes

### Mandatory HMO licence: Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Gravesham fees)

- Status: In force (`in_force`)
- Area: The whole of Gravesham Borough (national scheme).
- Fee: Published standard fee: £1,005.62. Council 'Apply for a HMO Licence' page (no fee year printed; fetched 26 October 2026): new applications Part A £541.81 + Part B £463.81 (= £1,005.62); renewal Part A £464.98 + Part B £444.93 (= £909.91). Part A is paid on submission; Part B is requested once the application is verified. A redacted copy of the full HMO register costs £45.20.
- Licence length: 5 years
- Who needs one: HMOs meeting the standard, self-contained flat or converted building test with five or more occupants forming more than one household (council HMO overview).
- Apply: https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/licensing/houses-multiple-occupation-1/2
- Licence conditions: https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/downloads/file/596/houses-with-multiple-occupants-policy
- Confidence: High
- How we checked this: The council publishes HMO Amenity Standards and an HMO Licensing Policy, an online HMO checker and a free online register search. The report page still refers to a financial penalty up to £30,000 and Rent Repayment Orders of up to 12 months' rent. The HMO Licensing Policy (version 1, dated 18 October 2022), section 7.4: 'The HMO licence will be granted for a period of 5 years', with shorter durations in certain situations.
- Sources: https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/licensing/houses-multiple-occupation-1, https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/licensing/houses-multiple-occupation-1/2, https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/downloads/file/596/houses-with-multiple-occupants-policy

## Article 4 for house shares

We found no Article 4 direction on house shares in Gravesham.

Council source: https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/planning/article-4-directions

## Civil penalty policy

The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.

'Private Sector Housing Civil Penalties Policy under the Renters' Rights Act 2025 and other housing legislation 2026-2031', adopting the ACEHO model policy. Failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72(1)) starting point £17,000 (landlord-type adjustment £13,600 / £20,400) within the £40,000 statutory maximum. Linked from the council's housing financial penalties page. The policy applies to breaches and offences on or after 1 May 2026.

Policy: https://www.gravesham.gov.uk/downloads/file/593/private-sector-housing-civil-penalty-policy

## Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Gravesham.

## Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Gravesham on 26 October 2026. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

- No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found in the council's site map, on the HMO and private sector housing pages, or in the committee document search (democracy.gravesham.gov.uk: 'selective licensing', 'additional licensing houses in multiple occupation' return only the 2022 HMO licensing policy, the 2023 civil penalty policy and older items). Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.
- HMO fee year is not stated.

## Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Gravesham is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register: https://lettance.com/register

---

From Lettance: https://lettance.com/councils/gravesham (catalogue edition 31 October 2026). This is information, not legal advice. Check the linked sources, and the council's own pages, before you act.
