# Licensing in Knowsley

> Knowsley has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

- Checked 26 Oct 2026 (researched_at 2026-10-26, verified_at 2026-10-26)
- Region: North West
- ONS code: E08000011
- Web page: https://lettance.com/councils/knowsley
- API: https://lettance.com/api/v1/councils/knowsley

## Licensing schemes

### Mandatory HMO licence: Mandatory HMO licensing (Knowsley fees)

- Status: In force (`in_force`)
- Area: Whole borough of Knowsley (national scheme).
- Fee: Published standard fee: £875. HMO Fees & Charges 2026-2027 (council HMO page): five-year licence 5 persons £875; 6 to 10 persons £1,206; 11 to 15 persons £1,550; 16+ persons £1,880. One-year licence: 5 persons £420; 6 to 10 £518; 11 to 15 £621; 16+ £731. The 'Check if you need a licence' subpage still shows the 2025-2026 fees (£843 / £1,162 / £1,492 / £1,810).
- Licence length: 5 years
- Who needs one: Privately rented HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more households who share amenities such as a kitchen, bathroom or laundry.
- Apply: https://www.knowsley.gov.uk/housing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo
- Licence conditions: https://www.knowsley.gov.uk/housing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo/mandatory-conditions
- Confidence: High
- How we checked this: Application by downloadable Word form submitted online. The council advises establishing lawful planning use. One-year licences are offered as well as five-year licences.
- Sources: https://www.knowsley.gov.uk/housing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo, https://www.knowsley.gov.uk/housing/houses-multiple-occupation-hmo/check-if-you-need-licence

## Article 4 for house shares

Not yet confirmed: whether Knowsley has an Article 4 direction on house shares.

## Civil penalty policy

Not yet confirmed: we have not found Knowsley's civil penalty policy yet.

## Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Knowsley.

## Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Knowsley on 26 October 2026. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

- No selective or additional licensing scheme was found. Checked: the council housing hub, HMO guide pages, Renters' Rights Act page and the A-Z index (letters S, L, C, A, P). The council does not state the absence.
- The HMO page shows 2026-2027 fees while a subpage still shows 2025-2026 fees; the 2026-2027 figures are recorded.
- No civil penalty policy was found; confirm whether the council has a published policy, and whether it reflects the Renters' Rights Act 2025.
- Committee papers were not searched.
- Article 4: whether Knowsley has an HMO (C3 to C4) Article 4 direction is not confirmed. Checked: planning.data.gov.uk (three heritage directions) and the council's planning policy and heritage pages; no council list of its Article 4 directions was found. None was found, but absence is inferred, not stated by the council; confirm with its planning team.

## Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Knowsley is in North West, where registration is planned from 15 May 2027 to 14 August 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register: https://lettance.com/register

---

From Lettance: https://lettance.com/councils/knowsley (catalogue edition 31 October 2026). This is information, not legal advice. Check the linked sources, and the council's own pages, before you act.
