Licensing in Amber Valley
Amber Valley has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Amber Valley
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only18
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Not yet confirmed
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Amber Valley fees)
- Area
Whole of Amber Valley Borough (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £795.17
Council HMO page: 'The fee to apply for a licence is £468.95' and, once a decision is made to approve a licence, 'a secondary fee is £326.22' (total £795.17). The HMO Fees Policy (version 7, April 2026, hourly rate £48.00) sets out the methodology.
- Who needs one
- HMOs occupied by five or more residents not forming a single household, regardless of the number of storeys (since 1 October 2018). The council page notes section 257 converted-flat HMOs are not included in mandatory licensing.
How we checked this
The council adopted its HMO Policy at full council on 20 June 2018 (amenity and space standards in its Appendix 2). Public HMO register: ambervalley.gov.uk
Article 4 for house shares
Whether Amber Valley has an Article 4 direction on house shares.
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.
'Civil penalties under the Renters' Rights Act and other housing legislation' policy, linked from the council's Information for landlords page. Lists failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72) or selective licence (s.95) and breach of licence conditions among offences with a statutory maximum of £40,000, with a starting-point matrix. Adoption date not extracted.
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Amber Valley.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Amber Valley. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
The council's HMO page states 'Amber Valley Borough Council currently does not operate any selective licensing schemes'. No additional licensing scheme or consultation was found on the private rented housing pages or in the website sitemap.
- Not yet confirmed
Licence term is not stated on the HMO page; check the HMO Policy.
- Not yet confirmed
Confirm the adoption date of the RRA civil penalties policy.
- Not yet confirmed
Article 4: whether Amber Valley has an HMO (C3 to C4) Article 4 direction is not confirmed. Checked: the council website sitemap (no Article 4 page) and planning.data.gov.uk (no Article 4 records for the council). None was found, but absence is inferred, not stated by the council; confirm with its planning team.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Amber Valley is in East Midlands, where registration is planned from 15 February 2027 to 14 May 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register