Licensing in Ashford
Ashford has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Ashford
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only39
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Yes
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Ashford fees)
- Area
The whole of Ashford Borough (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £871
Council HMO page: new licence 'Pay £871', renewal 'Pay £871', paid when submitting through the council's online account. The page says 'The HMO fee is the same for the period 2026-26 as below' (fee year as written). An optional two-hour HMO advisory/consultation visit costs £154.00.
- Who needs one
- HMOs with five or more people comprising two or more households (the council page says 'two or more family units') who share facilities.
How we checked this
The page sets bedroom minimum sizes (one adult 6.51 m2, two adults 10.22 m2, child aged 10 or under 4.64 m2) with 18 months to remedy shortfalls, requires a fire risk assessment for all licensed HMOs and suitable waste bins. A public HMO register is available on request from private.sectorhousing@ashford.gov.uk. Licence length is not stated on the page.
Article 4 for house shares
Ashford has an Article 4 direction on HMOs (houses in multiple occupation, or shared houses). Turning a family home into a shared house may need planning permission.
- Area
- Specific wards: Beaver, South Willesborough, Little Burton Farm and Aylesford Green wards (as defined in 2011 maps). The Development Control Manager's report of 26 July 2011 authorised a non-immediate Article 4 Direction removing permitted development rights for change of use from class C3 to class C4 in these four wards, to be made in terms taking effect 12 months later. The council's open-data Article 4 register lists ART/11/00346 (South Willesborough & Aylesford Green Wards, notified 15/10/2011), ART/11/00347 (Beaver Ward, notified 15/3/2012) and ART/11/00348 (Little Burton Farm Ward, notified 15/3/2012), each with confirmation date 1/12/2012; those register entries do not state the rights removed. Ward boundaries are those of 2011 and may not match current wards. planning.data.gov.uk article-4-direction-area records ART68-ART/11/00346, ART70-ART/11/00348 and ART71-ART/11/00347 (Ashford, Article 4(1)) carry start-date 2012-12-01.
- Takes effect
- 1 Dec 2012
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.
'Private Sector Housing Civil Penalties Policy under the Renters Rights Act 2025 and Related Housing Legislation' (file dated 30.06.2026; Cabinet on 9 July 2026, minute 91, adopted the policy at Appendix A of 'The Renters Rights Act 2025 - Enforcement Policy' report, delegating finalisation after public consultation to the Director of Health and Wellbeing: ashford.moderngov.co.uk), linked from the council's private rented sector page. It adopts the Association of Chief Environmental Health Officers (ACEHO) model policy: up to £7,000 for initial or lower-level breaches and up to £40,000 for serious, persistent or repeat offences; failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72) or a selective licence (s.95) and breach of licence conditions carry the £40,000 statutory maximum. The page also links a Private Sector Housing Enforcement and Prosecution Policy (ashford.gov.uk) and a civil penalties policy web page.
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Ashford.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Ashford. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council's HMO and private rented sector pages or in the council's committee document search (ashford.moderngov.co.uk: 'selective licensing', 'houses in multiple occupation licensing'); the council does not state the absence.
- Not yet confirmed
The HMO licence term is not stated on the council page.
- Not yet confirmed
The Article 4 register entries do not name the rights removed; the link to the HMO direction is inferred from matching wards, the 2011 authorising report and the one-year delay. Confirm the made direction text with the council and whether the 2012 ward areas still apply on current ward boundaries.
- Not yet confirmed
The civil penalty policy was adopted by Cabinet on 9 July 2026 subject to finalisation after public consultation; confirm whether the published 30 June 2026 file is the final text.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Ashford is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register