Lettance
← East of England

Council licensing in East of England

Licensing in Broxbourne

Broxbourne has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Checked 14 Oct 2026

Check an address in Broxbourne

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only10

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
None found
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Broxbourne fees)

    Area

    The whole of the Borough of Broxbourne (national scheme).

    Fee

    £1,820 for 5 years

    From the council's HMO fees page: £1,820 per property for a new or renewed licence, plus £159 for each bedroom over 5 bedrooms. Paid in two parts: £910 with Part Three of the application, and a second £910 plus any extra-bedroom fee once officers have completed and approved the first series of reviews. Renewals pay the same fee. The page does not state the year the fees apply to.

    Who needs one
    Rented properties that are the tenants' only or main residence where five or more occupants make up two or more households and share a kitchen, bathroom or toilet.
    Exemptions
    The council lists as not HMOs: a property where the landlord and household live with up to two tenants; a two-person flat share; no more than two single-person households; buildings occupied entirely by freeholders or long leaseholders; buildings managed or controlled by a public body, local housing authority or registered social landlord; buildings whose main use is not residential, such as religious buildings; buildings already regulated, such as care homes; and purpose-built blocks of flats unless a flat is shared by more than two tenants in two or more households.
    How we checked this

    This is the national scheme. Broxbourne publishes its own pages and fees. Apply at least eight weeks before the licence is needed, using three online forms completed in order (licence holder and manager details; property, plans, EPC, gas, electrical and fire certificates, planning consent and management; then the fit and proper person test and the first payment). A licence is 'usually valid for 5 years' and may be shorter where there are concerns over management arrangements or avoidable delays in applying. Each HMO needs its own licence. The council publishes an HMO licence public register (August 2026 edition) and 'The Borough of Broxbourne HMO Amenity Guidance and Statutory requirements' (October 2020). The HMO page says failure to license 'can result in civil penalty notices of up to £30,000 per offence, or a prosecution and possible prison sentence'. Separately from licensing, Local Plan policy H5 supports HMOs for 5 or more people only close to town centres and well served by public transport (planning, not licensing).

Article 4 for house shares

We found no Article 4 direction on house shares in Broxbourne.

Council source

Civil penalty policy

Not yet confirmed

We have not found Broxbourne's civil penalty policy yet.

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Broxbourne.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Broxbourne on 14 October 2026. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No housing civil penalty policy is published. Confirm whether one exists and whether it has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act 2025 (the HMO page still quotes the old £30,000 maximum).

  • Not yet confirmed

    No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council website (licensing and housing pages, sitemap, consultations page) or in a web search. The committee site broxbourne.moderngov.co.uk blocks automated fetching (HTTP 403), so Cabinet papers could not be checked.

  • Not yet confirmed

    The HMO fee page does not state the year its fees apply to, and no standard licence conditions are published.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Broxbourne is in East of England, where registration is planned from 15 January 2027 to 14 April 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register