Licensing in Burnley
Burnley has selective licensing in part of the council area. A selective scheme in part of the council area is proposed.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Burnley
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- May be covered: check the council's map15
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- Part of the council area
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Yes
- Consultation
- Open
Licensing schemes
Selective licence
In forceBurnley Wood with Healey Wood and Leyland Road selective licensing designations 2022-2027
- Area
Two street-defined areas: Burnley Wood with Healey Wood, and the Leyland Road area. Many streets are designated only for listed house numbers, so the council's street list or online property checker must be used for each address.
- Runs
- 21 July 2022 to 20 July 2027
- Fee
Published standard fee: £736
Council selective licensing page: 'the total fee for an online application is £736, reduced to £661 for licence holders who have previously held a licence in Burnley'. The 2022-2027 fee structure (updated 2026) gives £382 Part A on application plus £354 Part B on grant for a new online application (£736), £382 + £279 = £661 for further properties; with Good Landlord and Agent Scheme (GLAS) accreditation discount (30% of Part B) £515.20 and £462.70. Discounts are deducted from Part B for applications from 27 July 2026. Payment by monthly direct debit over up to 24 months may be agreed at the council's discretion.
- Who needs one
- All privately rented properties within the designation boundary that are not exempt (single-household lets and HMOs that do not need a mandatory HMO licence).
- Exemptions
- Statutory exemptions; the council publishes a list of properties exempt from selective licensing (burnley.gov.uk). Mandatory-licensable HMOs are licensed under Part 2 instead.
How we checked this
Designated areas page: 'On 21st April 2022 the secretary of state approved the introduction of selective licensing in the above areas of Burnley... The scheme began on 21st July 2022 and will end on 20th July 2027.' The council's 'All areas street list 2025' labels streets 'Burnleywood' and 'Leyland Road' and frequently designates only some house numbers (e.g. '2 to 10, 36, 40 to 60 (even)'), so no street list is recorded here; use the council's property checker (propertylicensing.burnley.gov.uk). The council consulted (3 August to 18 October 2026) on renewing both areas from July 2027; see the separate consultation scheme. Licence term is not stated on the page; licences cannot run past the designation end. Designation notices (Burnley-Wood-Healey-Wood-2022 and Leyland-Road-2022): made 19 January 2022, confirmed by the Secretary of State on 21 April 2022; 'The designation will come into force on the 21st July 2022 and will end on 20th July 2027.' 20 July 2027 is recorded as the last day; the five-year limit means it cannot run later.
Sources
- burnley.gov.uk: selective licensing
- burnley.gov.uk: designated areas in burnley
- burnley.gov.uk: All areas street list 2025 (PDF)
- burnley.gov.uk: Fee and Charging Structure 2022 2027 (PDF)
- burnley.gov.uk: Burnley Wood Healey Wood 2022 (PDF)
- burnley.gov.uk: Leyland Road 2022 (PDF)
- burnley.gov.uk: 2022 Approval (PDF)
Selective licence
In forceTrinity, Daneshouse, Gannow, Queensgate and Padiham selective licensing designations 2025-2030
- Area
Five street-defined areas named Trinity, Daneshouse, Gannow, Queensgate and Padiham. These are area names, not whole wards: many streets are designated only for listed house numbers. Use the council's street list or online property checker.
- Runs
- 27 April 2025 to 25 April 2030. The council notice says it ceases to have effect on 26 April 2030
- Fee
Published standard fee: £774
Council page: 'the total fee for an online application is £774, reduced to £692 for licence holders who have previously held a licence in Burnley'. The 2025-2030 fee structure (updated 22 September 2026) for applications on or after 27 July 2026: first application £420 Part A + £354 Part B = £774; additional property £420 + £274 = £694 (the fee page text says £692); with GLAS 30% discount £541.80 and £485.80. Applications before 26 July 2026 were £750 / £670. Early application discount of £100 applied only within 6 weeks of the designations coming into force.
- Who needs one
- All privately rented properties within the designation boundary that are not exempt (single-household lets and HMOs that do not need a mandatory HMO licence).
- Exemptions
- Statutory exemptions; council exemptions list at burnley.gov.uk
How we checked this
Designated areas page: 'On 27th January 2025 the Council made the designations for the Trinity, Daneshouse, Gannow, Queensgate, Padiham areas... The scheme will begin 27th April 2025 and will end on 26th April 2030.' The making report (Executive 15 January 2025) PDF is image-only and could not be read. Street-level boundaries with partial house-number ranges mean no street list is recorded here. Designation notices (e.g. Daneshouse-Stoneyholme 2025-2030): 'The Council made the designation on 27th January 2025 and gave approval that the designation will come into effect on 27th April 2025 and shall cease to have effect on 26th April 2030.' The cessation date is the day before the fifth anniversary, so end_date is 25 April 2030 and ceases_on is recorded. Made under the 2024 General Approval, so no Secretary of State confirmation was needed.
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (Burnley fees)
- Area
Whole borough of Burnley (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £961
Fees for 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027: £557 on application (up to 10 rooms, then £21 per additional room) plus £404 on grant = £961. For licence holders accredited under the Good Landlord and Agent Scheme: £388 + £283 = £671.
- Who needs one
- HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more households (national mandatory licensing test).
How we checked this
The fee page warns that the Article 4 direction in force from 14 October 2024 means landlords should establish lawful planning use before applying for an HMO licence. The council's Article 4 and Additional HMO Licensing page states: 'There is currently no additional HMO licensing scheme in the Borough of Burnley.'
Selective licence
ProposedProposed selective licensing 2027-2032: renewal of Burnley Wood with Healey Wood and Leyland Road, new Lyndhurst Road area
- Area
Proposed renewal of the Burnley Wood with Healey Wood and Leyland Road areas and a new Lyndhurst Road area, each defined by a consultation boundary map and street list.
- Fee
Published standard fee: £774
Proposed fee structure (Appendix A, 2026): first application £420 + £354 = £774; additional property £420 + £272 = £692; £100 early application discount within 6 weeks; 30% GLAS discount on Part B. Proposed only.
- Who needs one
- If designated, all non-exempt privately rented properties within the three proposed areas.
- Exemptions
- Proposed exemptions list: burnley.gov.uk
How we checked this
Consultation page: 'The public consultation on proposals to renew the Selective Licensing designation in Burnley Wood with Healey Wood and introduce a new designation covering Lyndhurst Road closed on 18 October 2026.' The statement of case summary also covers Leyland Road (proposed renewal). The responses will inform a report to the Executive, which will decide whether to proceed; 'these areas remain proposals at this stage'. The council's combined street list is titled 'Proposed street list 2027-2032'.
Article 4 for house shares
Burnley has an Article 4 direction on HMOs (houses in multiple occupation, or shared houses). Turning a family home into a shared house may need planning permission.
- Area
- Non-immediate C3 to C4 direction in nine wards: Bank Hall, Brunshaw, Daneshouse with Stoneyholme, Gannow, Gawthorpe, Queensgate, Rosehill with Burnley Wood, Rosegrove with Lowerhouse and Trinity (made 13 October 2023, confirmed 19 June 2024, in effect 14 October 2024). A further direction covering Briercliffe, Cliviger with Worsthorne, Coal Clough with Deerplay, Hapton with Park, Lanehead and Whittlefield with Ightenhill was made on 25 September 2026 and is out for comment until 6 November 2026; if confirmed it is expected to take effect from 27 September 2027.
- Takes effect
- 14 Oct 2024
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has not been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.
The Housing Enforcement Policy linked from the council's page (file uploaded March 2026) records its last review as March 2016 and contains no civil penalty matrix for Housing and Planning Act 2016 penalties. The selective licensing page says operating without a licence could result in 'a financial penalty of currently up to £40,000'. No separate civil penalty policy was found.
Consultations
Closes 6 Nov 2026
- Proposed selective licensing: renewal of Burnley Wood with Healey Wood and Leyland Road, new Lyndhurst Road designation (2027-2032)Closed, awaiting decision
Closed 18 Oct 2026
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Burnley. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
Selective licensing areas are street-level with partial house-number ranges; addresses must be checked against the council street list or property checker. Ward-level matching is not possible.
- Not yet confirmed
The 2025-2030 fee for additional properties is £692 on the selective licensing page but £694 in the fee structure table updated 22 September 2026; confirm with the council.
- Not yet confirmed
Licence length for selective licences is not stated on the council pages fetched.
- Not yet confirmed
No civil penalty policy updated for the Renters' Rights Act 2025 was found; the published enforcement policy dates from 2016.
- Not yet confirmed
Executive decision on the 2027-2032 proposals is pending after the consultation closed on 18 October 2026.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Burnley is in North West, where registration is planned from 15 May 2027 to 14 August 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register