Licensing in Dover
Dover has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Dover
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only17
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Not yet confirmed
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Dover fees)
- Area
The whole of Dover District (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £1,298
Council HMO page (no fee year printed; fetched 26 October 2026): new licence £1,298 for up to eight habitable rooms plus £72 for each habitable room above eight; renewal £995 for up to eight habitable rooms plus £53 for each habitable room above eight. Pre-application phone/video consultation £108 per hour; property inspection £190 per hour.
- Who needs one
- HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more separate households with shared facilities such as a kitchen, bathroom or toilet (council HMO page).
How we checked this
Applicants supply a copy of the tenancy agreement, gas and fire safety certificates, electrical test reports and building plans. Licence length is not stated on the page. The council's online forms were under maintenance when fetched.
Article 4 for house shares
Whether Dover has an Article 4 direction on house shares.
Civil penalty policy
We have not found Dover's civil penalty policy yet.
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Dover.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Dover. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council's private sector housing pages or in the council's committee document search (moderngov.dover.gov.uk: 'selective licensing', 'houses in multiple occupation'); the only related item is a 2016 Cabinet decision to join a Kent-wide BRE private sector stock condition survey. Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.
- Not yet confirmed
Retrieve the 2017 Private Sector Housing Enforcement Policy (Cabinet CAB 78) and confirm its civil penalty provisions, and whether it has been revised for the Renters' Rights Act 2025.
- Not yet confirmed
HMO licence term not stated; confirm the fee year of the published fees.
- Not yet confirmed
Absence of an HMO Article 4 direction rests on the planning.data.gov.uk dataset and the HMO page, not on a council statement.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Dover is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register