← South East

Licensing in East Hampshire

East Hampshire has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Check an address in East Hampshire

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only31

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
Not yet confirmed
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, East Hampshire fees)

    Area

    The whole of East Hampshire District (national scheme).

    Fee

    Published standard fee: £600

    Council HMO page (no fee year printed; fetched 26 October 2026), paid when submitting the application: 0-5 occupants £600; 6-10 £710; 11-15 £820; 16-20 £930; 20 plus £1,040. No renewal rate or two-part split shown.

    Who needs one
    HMOs with five or more people from two or more households (council HMO page: 'a statutory requirement for us to operate a licensing scheme for HMOs with five or more people, from two or more households').
    How we checked this

    Applications can be made through GOV.UK or by emailing or posting the council's form to Environmental Health, EHDC, PO Box 310, Petersfield GU32 9HN. The process includes an HHSRS inspection. A simplified register of licensed HMOs (May 2026) is published; the full register is available in print on request. Licence length is not stated.

Article 4 for house shares

Not yet confirmed

Whether East Hampshire has an Article 4 direction on house shares.

Council source

Civil penalty policy

The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.

Local housing authority civil penalties policy, policy date September 2026 (review September 2029), linked with the September 2026 enforcement policy from the private sector housing enforcement page. It covers Renters' Rights Act 2025 breaches and offences; failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72(1)) starting point £17,000 (landlord-type adjustment £13,600 / £20,400) within the £40,000 statutory maximum.

East Hampshire's civil penalty policy

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched East Hampshire.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched East Hampshire. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council's private sector housing, HMO or enforcement pages or in the council's committee document search (easthants.moderngov.co.uk: 'selective licensing', 'additional licensing', 'houses in multiple occupation' return only the 2018 HMO Licensing Policy and older items). Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.

  • Not yet confirmed

    HMO licence term and fee year are not stated on the HMO page.

  • Not yet confirmed

    Absence of an HMO Article 4 direction rests on the planning.data.gov.uk dataset; the council's own Article 4 list was not fetched.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. East Hampshire is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register