← South East

Licensing in Gravesham

Gravesham has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Check an address in Gravesham

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only17

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
None found
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Gravesham fees)

    Area

    The whole of Gravesham Borough (national scheme).

    Fee

    Published standard fee: £1,005.62

    Council 'Apply for a HMO Licence' page (no fee year printed; fetched 26 October 2026): new applications Part A £541.81 + Part B £463.81 (= £1,005.62); renewal Part A £464.98 + Part B £444.93 (= £909.91). Part A is paid on submission; Part B is requested once the application is verified. A redacted copy of the full HMO register costs £45.20.

    Who needs one
    HMOs meeting the standard, self-contained flat or converted building test with five or more occupants forming more than one household (council HMO overview).
    How we checked this

    The council publishes HMO Amenity Standards and an HMO Licensing Policy, an online HMO checker and a free online register search. The report page still refers to a financial penalty up to £30,000 and Rent Repayment Orders of up to 12 months' rent. The HMO Licensing Policy (version 1, dated 18 October 2022), section 7.4: 'The HMO licence will be granted for a period of 5 years', with shorter durations in certain situations.

Article 4 for house shares

We found no Article 4 direction on house shares in Gravesham.

Council source

Civil penalty policy

The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.

'Private Sector Housing Civil Penalties Policy under the Renters' Rights Act 2025 and other housing legislation 2026-2031', adopting the ACEHO model policy. Failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72(1)) starting point £17,000 (landlord-type adjustment £13,600 / £20,400) within the £40,000 statutory maximum. Linked from the council's housing financial penalties page. The policy applies to breaches and offences on or after 1 May 2026.

Gravesham's civil penalty policy

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Gravesham.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Gravesham. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found in the council's site map, on the HMO and private sector housing pages, or in the committee document search (democracy.gravesham.gov.uk: 'selective licensing', 'additional licensing houses in multiple occupation' return only the 2022 HMO licensing policy, the 2023 civil penalty policy and older items). Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.

  • Not yet confirmed

    HMO fee year is not stated.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Gravesham is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register