← South East

Licensing in Hart

Hart has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Check an address in Hart

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only11

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
None found
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Hart fees)

    Area

    The whole of Hart District (national scheme).

    Fee

    Published standard fee: £893

    Council HMO page, fees for 2026/2027: licence 5 persons £893; 6-10 £1,121; 11-15 £1,344; 16-20 £1,565; 21+ £1,786. Renewal 5 persons £686; 6-10 £862; 11-15 £1,033; 16-20 £1,202; 21+ £1,372. Variations £0. 10% reduction for members of the National Landlords Association or another association affiliated to the National Federation of Residential Landlords (as the page words it).

    Who needs one
    HMOs rented to five or more people not from the same household who share facilities (council HMO page: 'You may have to apply to us for a licence if you rent out a property as a house in multiple occupation to five or more people').
    How we checked this

    Applications are made by contacting the private sector housing team (01252 622122, privatesectorhousing@hart.gov.uk). The council publishes a register of HMOs. Licence length is not stated on the page.

Article 4 for house shares

We found no Article 4 direction on house shares in Hart.

Council source

Civil penalty policy

Not yet confirmed

We have not found Hart's civil penalty policy yet.

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Hart.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Hart. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found in the council's site map, on its private sector housing pages, or in the committee document search (hart.moderngov.co.uk returns no results for 'selective licensing' or 'civil penalties'; 'Renters Rights' returns only staff-training and performance mentions). Absence is inferred, not stated by the council.

  • Not yet confirmed

    Locate the council's civil penalty policy and whether it has been revised for the Renters' Rights Act 2025.

  • Not yet confirmed

    HMO licence term not stated.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Hart is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register