← North West

Licensing in Knowsley

Knowsley has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Check an address in Knowsley

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only15

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
Not yet confirmed
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (Knowsley fees)

    Area

    Whole borough of Knowsley (national scheme).

    Fee

    Published standard fee: £875

    HMO Fees & Charges 2026-2027 (council HMO page): five-year licence 5 persons £875; 6 to 10 persons £1,206; 11 to 15 persons £1,550; 16+ persons £1,880. One-year licence: 5 persons £420; 6 to 10 £518; 11 to 15 £621; 16+ £731. The 'Check if you need a licence' subpage still shows the 2025-2026 fees (£843 / £1,162 / £1,492 / £1,810).

    Who needs one
    Privately rented HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more households who share amenities such as a kitchen, bathroom or laundry.
    How we checked this

    Application by downloadable Word form submitted online. The council advises establishing lawful planning use. One-year licences are offered as well as five-year licences.

Article 4 for house shares

Not yet confirmed

Whether Knowsley has an Article 4 direction on house shares.

Civil penalty policy

Not yet confirmed

We have not found Knowsley's civil penalty policy yet.

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Knowsley.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Knowsley. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No selective or additional licensing scheme was found. Checked: the council housing hub, HMO guide pages, Renters' Rights Act page and the A-Z index (letters S, L, C, A, P). The council does not state the absence.

  • Not yet confirmed

    The HMO page shows 2026-2027 fees while a subpage still shows 2025-2026 fees; the 2026-2027 figures are recorded.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No civil penalty policy was found; confirm whether the council has a published policy, and whether it reflects the Renters' Rights Act 2025.

  • Not yet confirmed

    Committee papers were not searched.

  • Not yet confirmed

    Article 4: whether Knowsley has an HMO (C3 to C4) Article 4 direction is not confirmed. Checked: planning.data.gov.uk (three heritage directions) and the council's planning policy and heritage pages; no council list of its Article 4 directions was found. None was found, but absence is inferred, not stated by the council; confirm with its planning team.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Knowsley is in North West, where registration is planned from 15 May 2027 to 14 August 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register