Licensing in Mid Devon
Mid Devon has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Mid Devon
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only22
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Not yet confirmed
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Mid Devon fees)
- Area
The whole of Mid Devon District (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £1,083
Private Sector Housing Fees and Charges 2026/2027, new licence by number of units: 3-5 units Part 1 £814.00 + Part 2 £269.00 = £1,083.00; 6-10 units £904.00 + £269.00 = £1,173.00; 11+ units £993.00 + £269.00 = £1,262.00. Renewals (paid in full upfront, not split): 3-5 units £615.00; 6-10 units £660.00; 11+ units £705.00. Full register copy £6.00 electronic or £9.00 hardcopy.
- Who needs one
- Buildings where two or more families or individuals share basic amenities (or converted buildings with non-self-contained units) that have five or more people, including children, forming more than one household (national test under the Licensing of Houses in Multiple Occupation (Prescribed Description) (England) Order 2018, in force since 1 October 2018).
- Exemptions
- Statutory exemptions under Schedule 14 to the Housing Act 2004.
How we checked this
Apply by downloading the 2026-27 application form and emailing it to Health@middevon.gov.uk; a separate form is needed for each property. The 2026-2029 fees and penalties policy says Mid Devon had 17 licensed HMOs. A free extract of the HMO register is published. Licence length is not stated on the pages fetched. The council's HMO page dates the expanded national test from 1 April 2018; the 2018 Prescribed Description Order came into force on 1 October 2018.
Article 4 for house shares
Whether Mid Devon has an Article 4 direction on house shares.
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.
'Policy on Private Sector Housing Fees, Charges and the Use of Financial Penalties for Housing Act Offences including the Renters' Rights Act 2026-2029', version 4.2 adopted by Cabinet on 16 June 2026 (published on the council website as civil-penalties-policy-2026-2029.docx). Cabinet on 6 October 2026 adopted an updated version (Annex A to the Homes PDG report of 8 September 2026) adding sections on category 1 hazard penalties and other Renters' Rights Act provisions commenced in June 2026, with delegated authority for further minor amendments; the website copy had not been replaced at the time of checking. Breaches up to £7,000; offences up to £40,000. Offences committed before 1 May 2026 fall under the earlier adopted policy v4.1. Starting points follow MHCLG statutory guidance: mandatory or additional HMO unlicensed (s.72(1)) £17,000; knowingly permitting over-occupation (s.72(2)) £20,000; licence-condition breaches use council-set starting levels. The council's fees page still lists Housing Act civil penalties 'up to £30,000'.
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Mid Devon.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Mid Devon. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
No additional or selective licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found. The council's HMO page describes mandatory licensing only, the June 2026 fees policy sets fees only for (mandatory) HMO licensing, and Mid Devon committee agendas from January to October 2026 contain no designation proposal. The council does not expressly state the absence.
- Not yet confirmed
Absence of an HMO Article 4 direction is inferred; Mid Devon publishes no Article 4 data to planning.data.gov.uk and the only Article 4 page found in its sitemap is the Cullompton conservation area Article 4(2) direction.
- Not yet confirmed
Licence length is not stated on the council's HMO page.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Mid Devon is in South West, where registration is planned from 15 August 2027 to 14 November 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register