Licensing in Mole Valley
Mole Valley has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Mole Valley
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only13
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Not yet confirmed
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Mole Valley fee)
- Area
The whole of Mole Valley District (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £868.50
Council HMO page (WordPress record last modified 31 March 2026): 'A fee of £868.50 will be payable to obtain a licence.' A £50 discount applies to members of a recognised national landlords' association. No per-room charge or renewal rate is published.
- Who needs one
- HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more households who share facilities or amenities (council HMO page). The council also asks to be told about HMOs that do not need a licence, as it may inspect them for fire safety.
How we checked this
Applications go through the GOV.UK form; the council says tacit consent does not apply. Licensing team: Licensing@molevalley.gov.uk, 01306 885001. The council keeps a public register of licensed HMOs. The HMO page does not state the licence length and does not mention additional or selective licensing. conditions_url is the council's HMO standards document, not a licence conditions schedule.
Article 4 for house shares
Whether Mole Valley has an Article 4 direction on house shares.
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine.
The council's Private Sector Rented Landlords page links a 'Mole Valley Renters' Rights Act Policy', but the link opens a SharePoint sign-in page, so its content was not read. The same page warns of fines of up to £7,000 for failing to give tenants the government information sheet by 31 May 2026. No housing civil penalty matrix or private sector housing enforcement policy was found on the council site (searches of the site for 'civil penalty', 'enforcement policy' and 'housing standards' returned nothing relevant).
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Mole Valley.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Mole Valley. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
No selective or additional licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found: the council's HMO page covers mandatory licensing only and searches of the council website for 'selective licensing' and 'additional licensing' returned no results. The council does not state the absence. Web searches could not be extended after the shared search budget ran out.
- Not yet confirmed
The 'Renters' Right Act Policy' linked from the landlords page is behind a SharePoint sign-in; obtain it to confirm whether it is a civil penalty policy, its penalty levels and adoption date.
- Not yet confirmed
Licence length is not stated on the council's HMO page.
- Not yet confirmed
Absence of an HMO Article 4 direction is inferred from the council's Article 4 page (conservation areas only) and planning.data.gov.uk having no records.
- Not yet confirmed
Surrey local government reorganisation: the council's notice says 'from April 2027 East Surrey Council will replace the current areas covered by Elmbridge, Epsom and Ewell, Mole Valley, Reigate and Banstead, and Tandridge councils' (data processed from 1 April 2027 by East Surrey Council; https://www.molevalley.gov.uk/privacy-notice-local-government-reorganisation/). HMO licensing will then be run by the new council; check its fees and any new schemes after that date.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Mole Valley is in South East, where registration is planned from 15 March 2027 to 14 June 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register