Licensing in Redcar and Cleveland
Redcar and Cleveland has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.
Ask an assistant about this page:
Check an address in Redcar and Cleveland
We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.
Licensing, ward by ward
Select a ward to see its name and licensing.
- National rules only24
Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.
- Selective licensing
- None
- Additional HMO licensing
- No
- Article 4 on house shares
- Not yet confirmed
- Consultation
- None open
Licensing schemes
Mandatory HMO licence
In forceMandatory HMO licensing (Redcar and Cleveland fees)
- Area
Whole borough of Redcar and Cleveland (national scheme).
- Fee
Published standard fee: £600
Fee structure by lets: up to and including 4 lets £600; 6 lets £650; 8 lets £700; 10 lets £750; more than 10 lets £750 plus £10 per additional let. Plus fit and proper person check £30 for the licence holder and £30 for a separate manager (one check covers all licences held). Optional support service £50. No refund after receipt of an application. Page undated.
- Who needs one
- HMOs occupied by five or more people (in two or more households) where at least one tenant pays rent.
How we checked this
No online application: landlords contact HousingEHO@redcar-cleveland.gov.uk or 01287 612455 to be sent a form. 'In most circumstances, a licence will run for 5 years from the date of issue.'
Article 4 for house shares
Whether Redcar and Cleveland has an Article 4 direction on house shares.
Civil penalty policy
The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.
The housing Service Enforcement Policy (uploaded July 2026, linked from the Housing Issues and Standards page) covers the Renters' Rights Act 2025, its investigatory powers and civil penalties for offences including selective and HMO licensing offences, with the maximum 'reserved' for the most serious cases. No separate civil penalty matrix with starting amounts for licensing offences was found in it.
Consultations
We found no consultations when we researched Redcar and Cleveland.
Not yet confirmed
We could not settle these points when we researched Redcar and Cleveland. Check them with the council before you rely on them.
- Not yet confirmed
No selective or additional licensing scheme was found. Checked: the council's Housing Standards hub and all its subpages (HMO, Renters' Rights Act, register your rental property, housing issues and standards). The enforcement policy mentions selective licensing only 'where a designation is in place'. The council does not state the absence; committee papers were not searched. A former South Bank selective licensing designation (2018) had effect until 24 March 2024, per the search-index text of the council's old selective licensing page (https://www.redcar-cleveland.gov.uk/housing/housing-standards/selective-licensing, which now returns 'Access denied'); it ended more than 12 months ago, so it is not listed. A 2025 local MP campaign reports the council reviewing the case for selective licensing in Brotton and Carlin How (East Cleveland); no council proposal, consultation or decision was found.
- Not yet confirmed
No civil penalty starting-point matrix for licensing offences was found.
- Not yet confirmed
Article 4: whether Redcar and Cleveland has an HMO (C3 to C4) Article 4 direction is not confirmed. Checked: the council's heritage page (a Saltburn heritage direction only), its 'Do I need planning permission' page and planning.data.gov.uk (no Article 4 records for the council). None was found, but absence is inferred, not stated by the council; confirm with its planning team.
Landlord register
The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Redcar and Cleveland is in North East, where registration is planned from 15 June 2027 to 14 September 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register