← South West

Licensing in Tewkesbury

Tewkesbury has no selective or additional licensing scheme in force.

Check an address in Tewkesbury

We'll match the postcode to its ward and the schemes below.

Licensing, ward by ward

Select a ward to see its name and licensing.

  • National rules only20

Current ward boundaries from ONS. Some homes are exempt, so check your postcode and the scheme details below.

Selective licensing
None
Additional HMO licensing
No
Article 4 on house shares
Not yet confirmed
Consultation
None open

Licensing schemes

  • Mandatory HMO licence

    In force

    Mandatory HMO licensing (national scheme, Tewkesbury fees)

    Area

    The whole of Tewkesbury Borough (national scheme).

    Fee

    Published standard fee: £1,200

    Consolidated fee list 2026/2027 (v.2), 'House in Multiple Occupation (HMO) Licences': initial application fee (non-refundable) £336.00; further fee payable before issue of a licence (successful applications) £864.00; additional fee for HMOs with more than five occupants £41.00 per additional person. No separate renewal rate is listed.

    Who needs one
    HMOs occupied by five or more people forming two or more households who share facilities such as a kitchen or bathroom. The council's page adds that purpose-built flats are included where there are up to two flats in the block and one or both are occupied by five or more people in two or more households, including flats above shops; each such flat needs its own licence.
    Exemptions
    Statutory exemptions under Schedule 14 to the Housing Act 2004.
    How we checked this

    Application is by the council's HMO licensing application form (August 2021) with guidance notes. The council says to apply as soon as the property becomes licensable or as soon as you take control of it. The guidance notes linked from the HMO page say 'The licence is valid for a period of five years', counted from the date the application is duly made (or from the previous licence's expiry on renewal by the same holder). An HMO register (updated 14 August 2026) is published. The 2026/27 fee list (licensing fees with effect from 1 April 2026) shows no separate renewal rate.

Article 4 for house shares

Not yet confirmed

Whether Tewkesbury has an Article 4 direction on house shares.

Council source

Civil penalty policy

The council's policy sets how it decides the size of a fine. The version we found has been updated for the Renters' Rights Act.

The Executive on 13 July 2026 (item 21) approved amendments to the Civil Penalties Policy for the Renters' Rights Act 2025 (decision subject to call-in). The approved policy, 'Financial Penalties for Housing Offences under the Renters Rights Act & other housing legislation', follows the statutory starting points with a 'Landlord Type' adjustment: failure to obtain an HMO licence (s.72(1)) starting point £17,000 (downward £13,600, upward £20,400), statutory maximum £40,000. It was found in the Executive papers; no copy was located on the council's housing pages, and the council's 2021 Environmental Health enforcement policy still refers to civil penalties 'up to £30,000'.

Tewkesbury's civil penalty policy

Consultations

We found no consultations when we researched Tewkesbury.

Not yet confirmed

We could not settle these points when we researched Tewkesbury. Check them with the council before you rely on them.

  • Not yet confirmed

    No additional or selective licensing scheme, proposal or consultation was found on the council's HMO page (mandatory licensing only) or in web searches. The council does not state the absence.

  • Not yet confirmed

    The adopted July 2026 civil penalty policy is published in the Executive papers only; whether call-in was exercised was not checked, though no later reversal was found.

  • Not yet confirmed

    Article 4: whether Tewkesbury has an HMO (C3 to C4) Article 4 direction is not confirmed. Checked: the council's conservation areas and Article 4 page (conservation-area directions only) and planning.data.gov.uk (no Article 4 records for the council). None was found, but absence is inferred, not stated by the council; confirm with its planning team.

Landlord register

The national landlord register is separate from licensing. Tewkesbury is in South West, where registration is planned from 15 August 2027 to 14 November 2027. The regulations are still in draft. Read about the register